RCB Logo
RCB Logo


हिन्दी / English


Regional Centre for Biotechnology (RCB), an 'Institution of National Importance' providing education, training and research is established by the Department of Biotechnology, Government of India under the auspices of UNESCO. The Centre is focused on cooperatively working towards shared biotechnology growth in the Asia-Pacific Region. Regional interactions in biotechnology will promote co-operation amongst the countries to develop necessary infrastructure and capacity building for economic benefit of our societies. The Centre would be beneficial in developing knowledge rich, highly skilled human resource to be employed globally. RCB is a part of the Biotech Science Cluster (BSC) and operates in synergy with the other institutions in the Cluster.


The Government of India and the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) signed an agreement in New Delhi on 14 July 2006 for the establishment of the Regional Centre for Biotechnology (RCB), an institution of education, training and research with a strong focus on capacity building. RCB was established by the Government of India through the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science & Technology under the auspices of UNESCO as a category-II institution. The mandate of RCB is to conduct research and impart education and training in the field of biotechnology.

The Centre began functioning at its interim laboratories and offices in Gurgaon, Haryana in early 2010, and moved to its sprawling new campus within the NCR Biotech Science Cluster in the National Capital Region at Faridabad (Haryana) in 2015, where it has been fully functional since. The research, education and training activities of RCB are poised to expand significantly and build on the strong foundations already laid.